‘I like’ and ‘I dislike’

     One idea I have used today with Intermediate students. They were supposed to make up sentences with what they like and dislike about their jobs. I am a teacher from Russia, and my native language is Russian, so my Russian students take phrases ‘I like’ and ‘I dislike’ for granted and I completely understand it. These phrases are like ‘Our Father’ for them, something that was learned years ago, and something that they do not like to change or even think about it.

I told students that it’s high time to enlarge their vocabulary and forget about boring words.

I elicited different phrases which could help and I heard ‘love’ and ‘hate’. Not bad. Then I showed them a table:

I like I dislike
I love ______________ I hate ___________
I enjoy_____________ I can’t stand _________
I’m into _____________ I loathe ____________
I am fond of ___________ ______ drives me crazy
I am passionate about ___ ______ is not my thing
I am interested in ______ _____ is not my cup of tea
I am a fan of ______ I am sick of _______

I gave my students some time to look through and then let them ask questions.

Then students were working in pairs and listed actions they do at work (including coffee-breaks, answering telephone calls, checking e-mails, and so on). I gave them a pile of ‘I like’ and ‘I dislike’ cards for each students and they were supposed to use as many cards as possible to talk about their favourite and unloved actions. This activity took about 15 minutes.

Here is a picture of what they wrote in pairs:

IMG_0005

 I loved this idea very much. I will try this idea out with other groups.

Leave a Reply

